Images of Andalucia - The Leading Country Property Specialists
Home Page
About The Company
Properties For Sale
Provinces Info
Rural Andalucia A to Z
Buying A Property
Professional Services
Title Insurance
Fractional Ownership
News & Happenings
Frequently Asked Questions
Global Real Estate
International Properties
Contact Us
Unusual, unique and character properties in Europe and Beyond
Search by Province

Search by Code

Search by Category
B&B, Hotels, S.C. (64)
Beachfront/Coastal Property (4)
Business properties (24)
Cave Houses (10)
Cortijos / Farmhouses (29)
Cottages (9)
Country Property (109)
Equestrian property (82)
Fincas (55)
Historic (21)
Hunting Estate (18)
Imposing Residences (14)
Investment (12)
Lake/River View (10)
Land / Ruins (1)
Large country estates (34)
Mills (17)
Olive farms (33)
Owner Financing (2)
Rural Tourism (80)
Town/Village Houses (14)

Unique/Unusual Properties (67)

Villages (5)
Villas (31)
Vineyard (6)
Watermills (3)

Who's Who Historical SocietyInternational Association of Business Leaders


Selected Rural Spanish Property For Sale
HU129 San Miguel Mining Village
 The abandoned village
The abandoned village

Code: HU129

Province: Huelva
(
Click Here for detailed information on Huelva)

Town: Aracena

Categories: Unique/Unusual Properties   Rural Tourism   Historic   Villages   

Price: EUROS 2,100,000

San Miguel is an abandoned mining village set in 267 hectares of land occupying more than 6,000 m2 and can be rebuilt for individual housing, tourist development or similar use on most parts of the property.

No planning or building permission is permitted in this district unless forming part of a restoration project such as this. There are 19 buildings of approximately 6,000 m2 and on the other side of the river about 4-5,000 m2 of older buildings comprising 9 long rows of miners cottages.

The land lies in two parcels, one of 224 hectares comprising the village and surroundings, and the other of 29 hectares enclosing the reservoir and adjacent land. The reservoir is 1,300,000 cubic meters and covers 14 hectares when full and is connected to the village by a canal which forms part of the main parcel of land.

A bridge built for the railway line which originally services the mining community crosses the river that passes through the property and is in sound condition, capable of bearing heavy loads but only wide enough for a single vehicle at a time. The main access to the property does not require the use of this bridge.

The city of Huelva and beaches are 90 km away and the city of Seville 120 km.

HISTORY OF SAN MIGUEL

The mines of San Miguel have been exploited since the time of the Tartesios and the Romans. There are several small Roman shafts grouped in a small area near the old mine. As of all southern Spain no mining activity took place after the Romans left until the 19 century when Rio Tinto and the other smaller mines started operating.

Building at San Miguel must have started around 1845 although a large farmhouse stood there from a much earlier date. Mining continued discontinuously for over a century, frequently interrupted by market conditions or wars. A small pocket of gold bearing ore from the surface was sold to Rio Tinto in 1994 but no real mining has been done since 1970 when the ore bodies were considered depleted.

In its heyday around 1900 to 1914 the mine employed about 400 men of which half actually lived and were housed there. San Miguel was equipped with a small, fully-staff hospital, had its own shops and repair sheds for the locomotives and good housing for the level expected at the time. There was also a small church, barracks and carpenters shop. The imposing ruins of the House of Address still reveal the importance of this mine.

The private narrow gauge railway carried the ore to a junction with the main Huelva line. The property has been in private hands since 1926 and since then no underground mining has been carried out, all the extraction operations being done in the small open-cast. Rio Tinto rented this open-cast and worked it on a small scale for eleven years (1959-1970). Except for the gold ores taken in 1994 no further mineral has been mined.

Click on image to enlarge photo & zoom in

Downloadable Brochure in PDF Format:
- HU129 San Miguel Mining Village
 One of the large houses
One of the large houses
 The old railway bridge
The old railway bridge
 The old mining community
The old mining community
 
 Railway bridge
Railway bridge
 The quarry
The quarry
 The reservoir
The reservoir
 
 Waiting to be rebuilt
Waiting to be rebuilt
 Ruined houses
Ruined houses
 The stunning location
The stunning location
 
 The secluded lake
The secluded lake
 Ample water supply
Ample water supply
 Private lake
Private lake
 
 Entrance now cut off
Entrance now cut off
 Old shop
Old shop
 Mine shaft
Mine shaft
 
 San Miguel mine
San Miguel mine
 Mine entrance
Mine entrance
 San Miguel Village
San Miguel Village
 

Images of Andalucia
Reg. Office: Cortijo del Roble, Carboneras, Villanueva del Rosario, 29312 Malaga Spain
Telephone: 0034 603 424 175   Email: Click Here
Skype Username: imagesofandalucia
Legal Disclaimer   Registration Details

International Real Estate InstituteFIABCIConfederation of Europeenne de L'ImmobilierThe National Association of Estate AgentsFIPPA

Copyright © 2006 - 2018 All Rights Reserved